Favorite Tigers Memories…

One of my earliest memories as a Tigers fan goes back to the days of Sparky, Trammel, Nokes, Whitaker, Morris, Fielder and the eternal voice of Tigers Baseball in my mind, the great Ernie Harwell.

Probably around 1986ish my parents took my brother and I to a Spring Training game in Florida. I can remember the sounds of the fans, the smell of the ballpark, and the images of the players. Shortly after the game we lined up at the fence and hollered at Sparky Anderson. For a 5 year old kid to see the skipper flash a “thumbs up” was one of the coolest things ever.

My next greatest memory was being at the 2006 ALDS game against the Yankees when Kenny Rogers pitched a shutout. I’ve never been to a sporting event since that was more intense and electrifying. I high-fived more strangers that night than I could count. What a great game to spend with some good friends.

What are your favorite Tigers memories? Share your comments below.

2 comments

  1. Kari Wheeler

    My favorite memories are when my dad would pull me out of school on my birthday so we could go to tiger stadium and watch my beloved trammell play! Such good quality time with my dad centered around our mutual love of the game. To this day he makes sure to take his “girls” (my mom, sisters and I) to a game each season!

  2. Theresa Eilers

    I also put the 2006 ALDS up there as far as best Tigers memories go, only for me it was game 4 with Bonderman pitching into the 9th inning. We were in the last row on the upper deck and everyone was on their feet. What great energy!

Leave a comment